Teams confirmed for the 2018 Canada Cup International Wheelchair Rugby Tournament

(Vancouver, BC) Six of the world’s best wheelchair rugby teams are coming to the Richmond Olympic Oval from June 14-17 for the 8th Canada Cup International Wheelchair Rugby Tournament.

Team Canada will host international rivals including defending Paralympic and world champions Australia, five-time Canada Cup champion and reigning Paralympic silver medalists United States of America and 2016 Paralympic bronze medalist Japan. Rounding out the field are European powers Sweden and Denmark.

All six teams are ranked within the Top 10 of the International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) world rankings and will be using the Canada Cup as a crucial part of their preparations for this August’s IWRF World Wheelchair Rugby Championship in Sydney, Australia.

3rd ranked Team Canada will look to improve upon their 4th place finish at the 2016 Canada Cup as they push for their first Canada Cup title.

The Canada Cup International Wheelchair Rugby Tournament has been held biennually since 2004 and is the world’s most prestigious wheelchair rugby tournament outside of the Paralympics Games and World Championship.

More information about the 2018 Canada Cup including team rosters, ticket sales and the tournament schedule will be posted on in the coming months.


Media Contact
Nathan Bragg
Communications Coordinator
BC Wheelchair Sports Association
Phone: 604.333.3520 ext. 203